The Atlas Lions - The National Soccer (football) Team of Morocco

The Morocco national football team (Arabic: منتخب المغرب لكرة القدم‎), nicknamed أسود الأطلس (Lions of the Atlas), is the national team of Morocco and is controlled by the Fédération Royale Marocaine de Football. They were the first African team to win a group at the World Cup, which they did in 1986, finishing ahead of Portugal, Poland, and England. They were also the first African team to make it to second round barely losing to eventual runner-ups West Germany 1-0 in 1986. They also came within two minutes of moving out of the group stage of the the 1998 World Cup, Kjetil Rekdal's late winning goal for Norway against Brazil eliminating them.

Morocco won the African Nations Cup in 1976 and won Gold in the Mediterranean Games 1983 and 2013, won the 1997 African Youth Championship, won the 2001 and 2017 Jeux de la Francophonie, won the Arab Cup of Nations in 2012 and won Gold in the Islamic Solidarity Games 2013, won the Futsal African Cup of Nations 2016 and won the CHAN 2018!

Morocco vs Cote d'Ivoire

We came...We conquered....

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player